New 'Soul Riders' A Fantasy Book Series, Plus a Writing Masterclass

Horses...Magic...Friends...and Adventure!

By Veronica Leon, Editor, Publisher Macaroni Kid N Scottsdale-PV May 12, 2021

Soul Riders: Darkness Falling was preceded by Soul Riders: Jorvik Calling and its sequel, Soul Riders: The Legend Awakens. Get all three books on Amazon now!

My daughter ventured into the Soul Riders books (based on the massively popular adventure video game, Star Stable Online),  and followed four friends who discovered their magic powers and learned that every girl can be a hero in this fantasy trilogy. The Soul Riders series tells the heroic tale of four young girls who have been chosen by destiny to save the world from the ancient demon: Garnok and his band of dangerous Dark Riders. 

Friendship, magic, and horses are central to the entire trilogy, including the newest story, Soul Riders: Darkness Falling.

Lisa and her dad are moving again, she recently lost her mother in a riding accident, and she has to start over in a new town. 

Horses are what this town, Jorvik, is known for, yet since her mother’s accident, she is unable to rekindle the joy of being around them.  When a rider accidentally leaves her saddlebag behind, Lisa is compelled to return it to her at the closest stable.  She meets new friends there and at school. Together they help her rediscover her love of horses.  

Unusual situations emerge as she grows accustomed to the town and her new friends. Odd mystical happenings occur that she cannot explain until she and her friends discover the old legends of the Soul Riders.  The music she loves and her unusual powers start to make sense as evil descends on the town. With the help of the other Soul Riders, she discovers they are destined to put an end to this evil force.  

Set on the island of Jorvik, the Soul Riders trilogy is an epic fantasy story about magic, friendship, and horses. The story follows the Soul Riders (Anne, Lisa, Alex, and Linda), four heroes chosen by destiny who share a magical bond with their horses and each other. With the help of the island’s mystical druids, they embark on a dangerous adventure to save the world from Garnok, an ancient, terrible being of immense power. 

The map at the beginning of the book was helpful and it seems that the book was made to support the online game. Star Stable Online and the Soul Riders trilogy are recommended for horse and fantasy genre fans in grades 3 and up.  

A Writing Course in Four Parts

My daughter also had the opportunity to take two of the Star Stable Writing Master Classes on the Star Stable YouTube channel.

The Star Stable Read.Write.Unite campaign on YouTube features writing masterclasses with Soul Riders author Helena Dahlgren to empower the next generation of writers to create their own stories. Episodes 1 and 2 are out now, with the final two episodes releasing on April 26. You can find them all on Star Stable's YouTube channel.

See Episode 1 of the Master Class with Helena Dahlgren here:

In addition to writing and storytelling skills, the program builds confidence, empathy, and vulnerability. The writing masterclass unveiled ways you can become a better writer. Here are some of the tips my daughter learned in the courses:

Reading Provides Cardio to Your Soul

  • You learn new things
  • You improve your imagination
  • You can relate to your characters

Building Your Characters

  • Get to know your characters
  • Write from what you know
  • Flaws and room for development

And this is exciting: Star Stable is sponsoring a short story competition as part of its writing masterclass. One winner will have their story turned into an Instagram comic by illustrator Elli Puukangas. The contest is open to those aged 13 or over. Terms and conditions apply. Click here for more details.

Get the brand new Soul Riders: Darkness Falling book today on Amazon!